Making a Change

25 Sep

Have you ever had a moment where you knew for sure that God was speaking to you? He wanted you to do something but you kept putting it off. This is what this blog has been to me. As you can see, it’s been nearly one year since my last post. When I started this blog, I wanted to help people that I see on a daily basis. I still want to help, I let life get in the way of fulfilling this vision. But I’ve made a decision to make this vision a priority. I still don’t have a vehicle, so walking and MARTA is how I get around. It is so true when you are walking you see things so clearly. You see people up close and personal – the color of their hair, their clothes, their scent, etc. There is not a day that goes by that I don’t see someone digging in the trash for food, begging for change, or talking to themselves. Many people, myself included, walk past these people because we are afraid of them or we don’t care because they brought it on themselves. That’s what prompted me to even begin this blog. It’s sad because I continue to see the same people doing the same things as I described last year on this blog. When I say I want to help the people I see, I don’t mean give them a  dollar so I can feel I’ve done my good deed for the day. I’m not talking about giving donations to organizations. I’m talking about getting to know the people that are homeless…getting to know them as individuals. You can’t truly help someone without knowing what’s going on, on the inside (their thinking, emotions, how they see the world). I’m going to start by updating this blog weekly about the individuals that I meet that live on the streets and their perspectives of the world. I want to change your paradigm, the way you see the world , because it’s bigger than your point-of-view.

Leave a Reply

